The Complete 2020 ATP Tour Finals Guide

The 2020 ATP Tour Finals will grace London’s 02 Arena for the final time — from 15-22 November — and despite being behind closed doors, it is sure to be an excellent finale to a unique, stop-start year.

The O2 Arena In London.
The O2 Arena In London.

Seven of the singles players who featured in the event last year will again return with the exception of Roger Federer — whose season ended prematurely when he required knee surgery.

The draw will take place on Thursday, November 12 and the group names are as follows:

In Singles:

– Group Tokyo 1970, the inaugural year of the Nitto ATP Finals, will feature the No. 1 seed

– Group London 2020, the 12th and final year at The O2 in London, will feature the No. 2 seed

In Doubles:

– Group Bob Bryan, the 2003-04, ‘09 and ‘14 winner, will feature the No. 1 seed

– Group Mike Bryan, the 2003-04, ’09, ’14 and ‘18 winner, will feature the No. 2 seed

This Year’s Players

Therefore, this year’s singles consists of:

Novak Djokovic – seeking to match Federer’s record of six titles

Rafael Nadal – lost in the group stage last year, seeking his 1st ATP Finals title

Dominic Thiem – 2019 finalist

Daniil Medvedev – in great form having claimed Paris title

Stefanos Tsitsipas – won his biggest career title here last year, beating Thiem

Alexander Zverev – claimed two indoor titles in Cologne last month, the 2018 champion

Andrey Rublev – five ATP titles in 2020, maiden ATP Finals appearance

Diego Schwartzman – first ATP Finals appearance, reached maiden Slam semi-final in Paris

The 2020 ATP Finals Singles Field.
The 2020 ATP Finals Singles Field.

In the doubles, the pairs are Rajeev Ram and Joe Sailsbury, Mate Pavic and Bruno Soares, Kevin Krawietz and Andreas Mies, Marcelo Granollers and Horacio Zeballos, Wesley Koolhof and Nicola Mektic, John Peers and Michael Venus, Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo.

Farewell London

Since 2009, the iconic 02 Arena has been home for the eight best singles and doubles players, but, starting in 2021, the season-ending event will be held in Turin at the Pala Alpitour stadium.

In the 12-year history in England, Novak Djokovic has dominated, claiming four titles with Roger Federer triumphing twice.

For the last four years, there have been new winners, with Andy Murray, Grigor Dimitrov, Alexander Zverev, and Stefanos Tsitsipas becoming champions.

Russian Nikolay Davydenko, was the inaugural winner in London, the biggest title of his career which saw him reach four Slam semi-finals.

Nikolay Davydenko holding his trophy at the 2009 ATP Finals.
Nikolay Davydenko holding his trophy at the 2009 ATP Finals.

Arguably, the highest-profile name never to lift the season-finale trophy is Rafael Nadal, twice a losing finalist, in 2010 to Federer and 2013 to Djokovic.

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Nitto ATP Finals

This year’s event marks the 50th edition of the season-ending event since it began in Tokyo in 1970 where Stan Smith claimed the first title.

It has since been held in France, Spain, the USA, Australia, Sweden, Germany, China, and London and has been an indoor event every year except 1974, 2003, and 2004.

To celebrate the anniversary, ‘50 Years’ and ‘1970-2020’ will be painted onto the Centre Court at The O2.

Earlier this month the ATP Tour released a video hosted by former World No. 4 Tim Heman with current stars and legends of the game giving their thoughts on their experiences and the tournament’s memorable moments.

Follow Us On Social Media!

Join over 200 people who receive post notifications & weekly tennis updates.

Success! You're a tennis advocate.

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, I may receive a commission (at no additional cost to you). Thanks for your support in this way!

Latest Posts